Movies, Hangovers

Movies

I saw “Up” this weekend, which is fantastic, one of the best movies I’ve seen in a long time. The 3-d effects you can watch it with were not gimmicky or overdone. Like Wall*E, The first 20 minutes or so are silent and heart-wrenching. I can go on, but I don’t want to ruin anything – it is highly recommended.

Meanwhile, how can this poster not make you happy?

hangover-zach

I’m happy to hear Zach Galifianakis, one of my favorite entertainers, is breaking through complete with big movie and New York Times Magazine article. If new to Zach’s humor, I’d recommend his Live at The Purple Onion dvd, available on Netflix and elsewhere. Here is a good clip, as well as the epic Seth Galifianakis interview (where Zach pretends to be his imaginary, bizarre twin brother).

My favorite clip, which used to not be on youtube but is now, is Zach with his chorus of ex-girlfriends. I’ve often been intrigued and terrified by the notion of my ex-girlfriends, several of whom are musical, forming an A Capella group and singing Bangles songs. Zach makes that into a reality:

Good Hangovers

There are too many negative “I don’t remember last night” hangover stories that involve a tiger in the bathroom and people missing. I want to share a positive one. One night after finals weeks concluded in graduate school, me and my roommate were overserved by the local bar.

I woke up the next morning not sure how the night concluded. I went to check my email and saw 4 emails I didn’t expect from Ebay. Are you familiar with Ebay’s “Buy it Now” feature? I had received two emails at 3 in the morning saying that I had won two “Buy it Now” auctions, and two additional emails saying my payment via paypal had been received and my product would be shipping in the morning.

I was quite scared to open those emails, but it turned out I had purchased Toto’s Toto IV (featuring the hit songs “Africa” and “Rosanna”) on vinyl, as well as a 7″ single for Bonnie Tyler’s “Total Eclipse of the Heart.” With shipping, this was a total of about $11, perhaps the best $11 I’ve spent in my life.

We pieced together that this purchase was made to settle an argument over me playing Rosanna on the dive bar’s internet jukebox, when Africa was available. My stance, that you should switch up the Toto, was taken as me endorsing Rosanna as a better song than Africa, which is nonsense, though I may have said something akin to “we really need to hear this on vinyl before we can make a judgement call.” (The proper proportion between playing these two songs, Rosanna:Africa, I place at 1:6, though my friends placed at 0:6. The argument gets almost as heated as the proper proportion to play Air Supply’s Making Love Out of Nothing At All versus All Out of Love on a dive bar’s internet jukebox, a proportion I tend to go 3:1 on, though Ms. Rortybomb is of a 0:3 opinion. [That video for MLOONAA is epic, btw. It’s like the November Rain of its day.])

So it is not always bad news, even though it often is.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Movies, Hangovers

  1. Pingback: Morning Skim: Parsing Chrysler, Parodying G.M. - The Opinionator Blog - NYTimes.com

Leave a Reply

